top of page

nominate someone for citizen of the year

Nominations Open for 2023 City of Stamford Citizen of the Year


STAMFORD, Conn.— Mayor Caroline Simmons is pleased to announce that nominations are now being accepted for 2023’s City of Stamford Citizen of the Year (COTY).

“This award gives Stamford the opportunity to reflect on the people who have made extraordinary contributions to the community we love,” said Mayor Caroline Simmons.


The COTY award is given annually to a resident whose contributions make Stamford the great place that it is. This year’s selection committee includes:

  • Juanita T James, Chair and 2009 Citizen of the Year.

  • Cathy Ostuw, 2018 Citizen of the Year.

  • Courtney Nelthropp, 2022 Citizen of the Year

  • Stephen Fischer, Commander, Jewish War Veterans Post 142

  • Thomas Cassone, Esq., Member-at-large

  • Bill Brucker, Member-at-large


“While it has been always wonderful to celebrate our honorees’ dedication and commitment to Stamford through their impactful service a poignant outcome of our nomination process is learning about their respective lives through the various biographical materials submitted,” commented Gary H. Stone, Co-Chair, along with Rick Redniss. 


“Additionally, honoring veterans and high school seniors who have demonstrated their deep commitment to our community affords us an annual opportunity to celebrate the dedication and achievements of these phenomenal individuals,” adds Rick Redniss. “Each year we look forward to learning more about all COTY nominees. Then we make the difficult decision of choosing just one who makes us proud to be part of the City of Stamford.”

The committee’s criteria for selecting the award recipient has remained the same since the founding of the award in 1945. The chosen nominee shall:

  • Demonstrate a belief in interfaith harmony.

  • Possess the highest standards of responsibility in civic life.

  • Help in the promotion of projects for the public welfare.

  • Has personally worked with distinction to benefit Stamford on a community-wide basis.


“I encourage everyone to take a moment and reflect on your fellow residents who have made a difference in your life and Stamford’s community,” said Mayor Simmons. “Take the time to nominate a special person who consistently contributes to making Stamford the exceptional place that it is.”

Nominations must include a bullet point summary of the nominee’s background supporting   the criteria listed above. Nominations can be filled out at, emailed to or mailed to:

Nominations Committee

2023 City of Stamford Citizen of the Year

48 Putter Drive

Stamford, CT  06907


All nominations must be received by Friday, December 16, 2022.

Citizen of the Year is an annual award that has been given to one resident of Stamford every year since 1945. The award was founded by Fred Robbins, a war veteran of World War I and World War II — after he settled in Stamford and became involved in community affairs. Robbins worked with Mayor Webster Givens to establish the Citizen of the Year award. Mayor Givens appointed Post 142 of the Jewish War Veterans of the United States to be the sponsoring organization for the award. Post 142 has sponsored the award on behalf of the City for 76 years and in that time the award has honored more than 76 men and women who have served the Stamford Community.

About the Citizen of the Year Award:

In the early 1940s, Fred Robbins, a veteran who had served in both World War I and II, settled in Stamford in, became involved in our community affairs and worked with then Mayor Webster Givens to establish a Citizen of the Year (COTY) award. COTY has been awarded since 1945 when Mayor Givens appointed Post 142 of the Jewish War Veterans of the United States be the sponsoring organization. Post 142 has sponsored the award on behalf of the City for 74 years and over this time has honored more than 70 men and women who have served our community.

Prior City of Stamford Citizens of the Year:

1945   Father John Kelley

1946   C. Russell Waterbury

1947   Rabbi David W. Pearlman

1948   Rev. Lloyd F. Worley

1949   Walter H. Wheeler   Jr.

1950   Benjamin Bogin

1951   Sarah F. Smith

1952   Norris E. Pierson

1953   Gibbs Lyons

1954   Jean Ware Hoyt

1955   Harold E. Rider

1956   Pat Marshall

1957   Harry Rosenbaum

1958   Joseph E. Morrow

1959   Rev. Donald F. Campbell

1960   J. Walter Kennedy

1961   Walter Thayer

1962   Thomas C. Mayers

1963   T. Carter Dodd

1964   Rev. Russell McGown

1965   Doris Kirshbaum

1966   John F. Cameron

1967   Herbert B. Kohn

1968   Dr. Peter Goldmark

1969   Thomas J. Feeney

1970   Rev. Cyrill S. Peters

1971   Dr. Angelo Mastrangelo

1972   John O. Nicklis

1973   Charles A. Ukkerd

1974   Alphonsus J. Donahue   Jr.

1975   Louis Lotstein

1976   Lillian Moran

1977   Tony P. Pia

1978   Pobie Johnston

1979   Edith Sherman

1980   Fred T. Allen

1981   Wayne L. Tyson

1982   Christel Truglia

1983   Julius M. Wilensky

1984   Joseph F. Fahey

1985   Sylvia Rosenfield

1986   Frank D. Rich   Jr.

1987   S. Beatrice Foreman

1988   Norman T. Woodbury

1989   Jane F. Norgren

1990   John T. D. Rich

1990   Elizabeth P. Rich

1991   Lynne R. Laitman

1992   Charles A. Guinta

1993   Charles C. Judd

1993   Jane M. Judd

1994   John A. Ball

1995   Michael J. Cacace

1996   George B. Harvey

1998   Adele Gordon

1999   Polly O’Brien

2000   Len Miller

2001   Sam Cingari

2002   Rev. Winton M. Hill III

2003   Marc Lyons,  Jr.

2004   Rick Robustelli

2005   Sandy Goldstein

2006   Al Sanseverino

2007   June Rosenthal

2008   Richard E. Taber

2009   Juanita T. James

2010   Bobby Valentine

2011   Arthur Selkowitz

2012   Jami Sherwood

2013   Timothy J. Curtin.  Jr.

2014   Gene Rubino

2015   Jay Sandak

2015   Mary Sommer

2016   Richard W. Redniss

2017   Dudley N. Williams,  Jr.

2018   Gov. Dannel Malloy

2019    Cathy Ostuw

bottom of page